On Isiopolis

It has been several months since I have paid attention to this blog. One of the things that I did a few days ago was to  check the links. One that I checked was the link to Isiopolis the only ongoing blog on the internet, of which I am aware, which is dedicated solely to Isis. The blog is owned by Isidora Forrest who is the author of “Isis Magic” a book which combines an excellent historical survay of the devotion and interest shown to Isis over the ages with her own spiritual how to book of modern Isian spirituality.  As usual in viewing her blog, I found a degree of historical and spiritual insight which greatly exceeds what I normally find on the internet.

In my own prayers and worship I still often think of the Goddess that I worship as Isis, though more often I simply address her as Lady, Holy Queen, etc. However I no longer think of myself as Isian in religion. The simply fact is that I no longer believe that an Isian religion really exists or that one will be emerging in my life time. I do wish one did exist but that is a hopeless dream I think. However in spite of this, it is good that there are a few persons such as Isidora Forrest who do honor Isis by both their intelligence and devotion.

Glenn

2 thoughts on “On Isiopolis

  1. Dear Glenn

    I share your wish to become an “Isiacus”, a follower and believer of Isiacism. I was attracted to this sacred and holy religion since I’ve read the work of Prof. R. Merkelbach: ‘Isis Regina -Zeus Sarapis’ (2001); and of course Apuleius. Also non-initiands could participate in some public rites of Isiacism, but to be a “full” initiand, one had to be initiated. Since that’s not possible any longer because the mysteries are lost for ever, one just has to accept it. So I think it would’t be could to try to recover something what is lost (the mystery). But even when it is impossible, to be initiated to her mystery, it is still possible to have devotion for Isis, and not only in private, but also in public for she really IS the Virgin Mary (or at least influenced the concept of the Virgin Mary). Not only because of the Mother-with-Child-Iconography, but especially also because both Isis and Mary are Protectresses of shipping (and shipping is also an allegory of life itself). So even when her mysteries are lost, she, the Merciful, still comforts us in disguise of the Virgin Mary. “No day, no night, none single moment passes without Isis doing good things.” (Apuleius)

    May it comforts you!

    Sebastian

Leave a Reply

