Psalms for the Lady

One of the great sources of Marian devotional works from the Medieval Period is the Psalter of the Blessed Virgin Mary attributed to the Roman Catholic Saint Bonaventure of the 13th century CE. Several translations of this group of 150 small psalms to Mary are on the internet. Check out this link http://www.franciscan-sfo.org/ap/bona/PSALTER.htm to see one collection of these traditional psalms.

For several months now I have been adopting these hymns for my own personal devotional use. I want to share a few of these with those who are interested. One of my theological beliefs is that the Virgin Mary of Roman Catholicism and Eastern Orthodoxy is the Christian form of the divine feminine i.e. the Goddess. In Isian belief all of the goddesses are forms of Isis. The genuine worship and devotion expressed within the psalms of St. Bonaventure shines forth clearly in spite of the archaic King James style English of these translations. What I have done in my editing is to change a lot of archaic language to that of regular modern usage. The edited versions also have been made to reflect the thealogical belief that Mary / the Goddess / Isis is fully and completely divine and not subordinated to any other divine power. Again because in high Marian devotional literature, Mary takes on so many of the aspects of a goddess surprising little editing has been needed for my devotional purposses.

Note. The names given these psalms come from my self. The lines of the devotions are numbered to help me in memorizing them. Below are three of these psalms.

PSALM 23 – The Fullness

1) The fullness of the earth is yours O Lady; You O Mother will reign forever.

2) You are clothed with glory and beauty:

3) every precious stone is your adornment & your clothing.

4) The brightness of the sun is upon your head: the beauty of the moon is beneath your feet.

5) Shining orbs adorn your throne: the morning stars glorify your forever.

6) Be mindful of us, O Lady, in thy good pleasure: and make us worthy to glorify your name.

PSALM 22 – Blessed

1) You are my Queen, O Mother and you have turned to me your glorious face.

2) Blessed are your most resplendent eyes: which have turned toward toward sinners.

3) Blessed is the light and the splendor of your countenance: blessed is the grace of your face.

4) Blessed be the mercy of your hands: blessed be the stream of your mercies.

5) Let your prophets bless your holy name: let the righteous, saints, and martyrs sing praise to you.

PSALM 26 – May Your Light

1) O Lady, may your light be the splendor of my countenance:

2) and let the serenity of your grace shine upon my mind.

3) Raise up my head: and I will sing a psalm to your name.

4) Turn not away your face from me: for I have greatly desired your beauty and your grace.

5) I have loved you and sought after you, O Queen of Heaven:

6) withdraw not your mercy and your grace from your servant.

7) I will give praise to thee in the nations: and I will honor the throne of thy glory.

3 thoughts on “Psalms for the Lady

  1. Beautiful psalms, I have a very strong connection with the Marian, I also feel she is the form of the goddess.

  2. Sirius, thanks for the comment. Yes, I agree with you. I will be posting more of these psalms hopefully on a fairly regular basis now.

    Glenn

  3. Pingback: Psalms for the Lady « House of Thea

Leave a Reply

